Gurung and Bhatta register their candidacy for NRNA presidency

Kathmandu: Ms Jamuna Ghale and Bhawan Bhatta have registered their candidacy for the post of President of the Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA).

The time for registering candidacy for NRNA president was fixed from Sunday evening until 10.30 am today. The NRNA 8th Global Summit kicked off on Saturday.

One thousand eight hundred and fifty four delegates will be voting in the election to a new executive body of the NRNA in the Global Summit.

According to the NRNA election committee, the incumbent vice-president Bhawan Bhatta had registered his candidacy on Sunday night itself while Gurung registered hers only this morning.

Although efforts were made to reach a consensus between the Bhatta panel and the Gurung panel throughout Sunday night, no compromise could be reached. Gurung is the spouse of the current NRNA president, Shesh Ghale.

Bhatta represents NRNA from Japan and Gurung from Australia. TB Karki who was also a contender to the post has however withdrawn his candidacy.

Likewise, Chiranjivi Thapa, Khagendra Chhetri, Kul Acharya, Sonam Lama, Kumar Prasad Panta and Rabina Thapa have filed their candidacy for the post of Vice-president. RRanju Thapa and Sapila Rajbhandari have registered candidacy for the woman vice-president.

Arjun Kumar Shrestha, Dr Badri K.C. and Yam Kumar Gurung (Trilok) have fielded their candidature for the post of General Secretary; DB Chhetri, Dr Devi Bahadur Basnet, Ganesh KC, Rishiram Kandel and Santosh Kumar Bhattarai have registered candidacy for the post of Secretary; Hikmat Thapa and Muchhetra Gurung have filed candidacy for the post of Treasurer; and Chakra Bhadur Thapa and Somnath Sapkota have registered candidacy for the post of Joint Treasurer.

The voting has started after 4 pm today and the results are expected to be announced tonight itself as electric voting machines are used for voting.

The NRNA executive body comprises a president, two vice-presidents, one woman vice-president, one general secretary, one general secretary, one treasurer and one joint-tresurer as well as six regional coordinators, one each from the NRNA’s Europe, America, Africa, Asia, Oceania and Middle East chapters.

Similarly, there are six deputy-coordinators, one women coordinator and deputy-coordinator as well as a youth coordinator and deputy-coordinator each. All these posts have to be filled through election.

The closed-door session of the NRNA summit that ran throughout Sunday endorsed the ‘Vision 2020 and Beyond’ presented by president Sesh Ghale.